Halal is an Arabic term meaning "permissible" or "passed." As Muslims, we were instructed to consume halal food. Allah SWT has repeatedly stressed the importance of consuming halal food in several verses of the Qur'an, for instance in Surah Al-Baqarah verse 168:
"O mankind, eat from whatever is on earth [that is] lawful and good and do not follow the footsteps of Satan. Indeed, he is to you a clear enemy."
In the opposite, haram means "invalid" or "not permissible." Allah SWT says in Surah Al Maidah verse 3:
"Prohibited to you are dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah , and [those animals] killed by strangling or by a violent blow or by a head-long fall or by the goring of horns, and those from which a wild animal has eaten, except what you [are able to] slaughter [before its death, . . ."
From the verse above, we can conclude that Muslims are forbidden to eat carrion, blood, pork, and meat of animals slaughtered in the name of other than Allah. Also, foods containing or using alcohol and other forbidden meats (such as frogs, dogs, etc.) are also forbidden for consumption.
With the advancement of technology, process manufacturing and processing most of the food using additional ingredients, such as emulsifiers, colorings, and preservatives. These materials can be derived from the animal in question the status of halal and haram. For that, we must be careful in choosing which foods can be consumed by examining the code of additives (E-numbers) that are usually contained in part of the composition of the product (ingredients). More information about E-numbers can be accessed here.
If you do not want to bother to check the ingredients of each product you buy, vegetarian food (vegetarisch) or organic (Biologisch) are safe for consumption. Likewise, the products that are sold in Turkey stores. Usually, there is a halal label on each product packaging. Please note that not all products or food found in Turkey grocery stores and restaurants are halal (including doner kebab). We recommend that you should ask the seller whether the food is halal or not.
Here is the list of stores and markets to find halal foods in Eindhoven.
- Islam Slagerij
Marconilaan 23/B, 5612HM Eindhoven
- Islam Huzur Slagerij (for buying chicken)
Wattstraat 21, 5621AH Eindhoven
- Bahar Supermarkt
Woenselse Markt 41, 5612CS, Eindhoven
- Yasar Market
Tongelresestraat 256, Eindoven
- Helal Slagerij Izzet
Woenselse Markt 50, 5612CS Eindhoven
- Koylu Kip Producten (for buying chickens)
Grobbendonkstraat 3, 5628 RE Eindhoven
- Tanger Markt
Gemmastraat 1, 5612 HT, Eindhoven
- Izmir Supermarket B.V.
Bennekelstraat 19, 5654 DB Eindhoven
Here is the list of restaurants to find halal foods in Eindhoven:
- Hizmet Turkse Bakkerij
Kruisstraat 77, 5612 CD Eindhoven
- Vis Enzo
Tongelresestraat 270A, 5613 DV Eindhoven
- Pak Doner
Woenselse Markt 30, 5612 CR, Eindhoven
- Saffraan Restaurant Eindhoven
Tongelresestraat 321, 5642 NB Eindhoven
- Turks Specaliteitenrestaurant Turkoise
Hoogstraat 86C, 5615 PS Eindhoven
- El Generaal
51A, Generaal Coenderslaan, 5623 LV Eindhoven
Tongelresestraat 278, 5613 DV Eindhoven