All praises for Allah, Lord of the whole universe. The Messenger of Allah, may Allah grant peace and honor on him and his family.
This month Manis was held at Mbak Detty’s home with a theme "Halal Food". As we already know, obtaining halal food can be a challenge for us as Muslims living in non-Muslim majority country. In this study, Ms. Yosi gave us a lot of information about a critical point to decide whether the food is halal or haram. We have to pay attention at the ingredient of the food that we eat. One of the critical points is an addictive substance like coloring food like in candy or chocolate and gelatine in a cake, ice cream, and yogurt. Coloring foods originated from human hair or haram animals (non zabiha) are prohibited. We should also be careful with gelatin. Gelatins, which are originated from pig or non zabiha animal are not allowed to consume. Furthermore, as Muslims, we have to know the processing of the food. Foods that use alcohol (khamr) like wine, sake or mirin are not allowed to eat.
Moreover, as Muslims, we have to know foods that we eat are blessed by Allah SWT. When we eat food that is haram, our dua will be delayed or rejected by Allah SWT. Abu Huraira reported The Messenger of Allah, peace, and blessings be upon him, said, “O people, Allah is pure and he accepts only what is pure. Verily, Allah has commanded the believers as he commanded his Messengers. Allah said: O messengers, eat from good things and act righteously, for I know what you do. (23:51) And Allah said: O you who believe, eat from good things We have provided for you.” (2:172). Then the Prophet mentioned a man who traveled far, becoming disheveled and dusty and he raises his hands to the sky, saying, “O Lord! O Lord!” while his food is unlawful, his drink is unlawful, his clothing is unlawful, and he is nourished by the unlawful, so how can he be answered? (HR. Muslim no. 1015).
May Allah always make it easier for us to continue to deepen our knowledge in Islam. See you at the next Muslimah studies :D.